Archive for June, 2008

Rajasthan Royals won Indian premier League (IPL)

June 3, 2008 3 comments

They played the tournament like Royals.
The team without Icon player, without couch, without star players. The least expensive side in the tournament.
The only thing they have is team spirit, they carried throughout the tournament and won the first IPL (Indian Premier League).
Rajasthan Royals beat Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets on the last ball of the 20th over to lift the DLF Indian Premier League trophy

Every member of the team played important role in different matches of tournament according to need.
Yusuf Pathan is outstanding, he is the man of the match of final with all round performance, who took 3 wickets and top-scored with a 39-ball 56 runs. He was like nightmare for opposite teams throughout tournament. he has fastest fifty in 21 balls of IPL on his name. Yusuf grabbed 435 runs in 16 matches in the IPL, at an amazing strike rate of 179, inclusive of 43 boundaries and 25 sixes.

Shane Watson who played All rounder’s role throughout tournament. Watson is the player of the tournament with his 474 runs and 17 wickets.

Sohail Tanvir picked 22 wickets, the highest in the IPL tournament, to become the proud owner of the purple cap.

Shane Warne, yes he was the inspiration of the team. he kept the team spirit high. he was not only the captain of the team but coach also. Hats off to him. “We were the underdogs right from the start but we have played an entertaining brand of cricket,” Warne said.

“The young guys are not scared of reputations, whether it is [Mohammad] Asif or [Glenn] McGrath. They will look to smack them out of the ground. These young guys are making me feel young. Watching the young guys taking on the best in the world and also do well makes me feel good,” he said.

“Ravindra Jadeja is a rockstar. He will be the next superstar for India. [Swapnil] Asnodkar is a terrific shot maker. Yusuf Pathan is finally fulfilling his potential and he has been rewarded with a place in the Indian ODI side. It makes me proud as the captain of the Royals,” the Aussie added.

Winner’s cheque 4.8 crore Rs.
Runner up’s cheque 2.4 crore Rs.

Player of the series: Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals)
Batsman of the series: Shaun Marsh

Bowler of the series: Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)